Weathering the Storms

Published by: Pleasant Word-A Division of WinePress Publishing
Release Date: September 12, 2005
Pages: 137
ISBN13: 978-1414103938
Buy the Book:
Amazon
Kindle

Synopsis

For readers of Manning the Light this second novel in the Louie Lighthouse Series is a must read. The story continues in the fall of 1903 with the adventures of 13-year-old Louie and his friend, Charlie. Be with these two characters as they face their fears and find that faith helps them deal with the stormy challenges of nature, sports, abuses, accidents, and relationships. In Weathering the Storms, meet Louie's new pet, and go with Louie and Charlie to the First World Series' games at Boston's Huntington Park Fairgrounds. Find out what happens when a hurricane hits Two Tree Island and a fishing fleet.

Download the Lighthouse Study Guide

Praise

“The first two books of the Louie Lighthouse series depict fictional and actual events along the New England coast during the year 1903. These books provide young readers with a glimpse of life during the innovative early years of the twentieth century. The two main characters, Louie and Charlie, mature through each adventure, personal conflict, temptation, and adverse weather crises. Those who love lighthouse, maritime history, transportation history, and baseball must read these books.”
-Amazon review

Excerpt

“Too lumpy,” he added, bending over the obstinate object in his hands. He brushed away a lock of bushy hair over his eyes with his arm and wiped his sweaty hands on his shirt.

Louie whittled away at the knot in the driftwood until a beak formed. He carefully closed his new pocketknife and placed it down beside him. Wish I could run—anywhere—around bases or up and down grassy slopes, he thought to himself, or even jump off the rock ledge into the icy cold ocean water. Instead, he stood up and with a two-step jumped over a nearby crevice to the next big rock. Lifting his arms for balance, he climbed up and over the rocks that made up most of the surface of the two-acre island. After two months on Two Tree Island, Louie had mastered and memorized all the rocks—just as he had the ships that passed the island on regular runs.

Besides all his other chores, Louie conducted tours when summer folk brought their families to visit the lighthouse. For the past week there had been no visitors—nor had the familiar summer pleasure vessels passed by. Each day had dawned bright and clear—and still.

Ma appeared at his side and pointed to the placid sea. “Not a breath of air anywhere,” she said.

Louie felt as languid as the sea. He turned to Ma. “I’m bored. There’s no one around to play with. Charlie’s gone home. Sammy’s gone, too—at least most of the time—except when I’m lighting the lamp beacon. Sometimes he comes back to sit on the tower railing. He ‘kuk kuks,’ then flies away to be with the other seagulls. I don’t have any friends anymore. I need another pet.”

“There’s Betsy, our cow, and the chickens,” Ma replied.

“But they’re not pets,” Louie said.

“If you’re bored, how about collecting some of that moss over there for me? With this bright sun it ought to bleach fast—then we can make some sea moss pudding. You can start by picking out the weeds and seaweed and then spreading the moss on level rocks. Should be good drying weather since there is no rain in sight. Then pick us some blueberries for dinner.”
Louie moaned and muttered under this breath, “Just like Ma to give me something to do. Don’t mothers ever understand? I wish Charlie were still visiting or at least Uncle Sam. I haven’t seen either of them for a week. I can’t even look forward to going back to school like Charlie.”

2018-02-06T13:30:39+00:00